What you need to know before you see Avengers: Infinity War

The basic facts of the Marvel Comic Universe you need to know before you seen Avengers: Infinity War

Emma Buck, Junior Writer

Ever since the release of the original Iron Man movie, the movies within the Marvel Comic Universe have been categorized into phases, with Avengers: Infinity War being in the third phase.


  • Phase One


      1. Iron Man
      2. The Incredible Hulk
      3. Iron Man 2
      4. Thor
      5. Captain America; The First Avenger
      6. Marvel’s The Avengers


  • Phase Two


      1. Iron Man 3
      2. Thor: The Dark World
      3. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
      4. Guardians of the Galaxy
      5. Avengers: Age of Ultron
      6. Ant-Man


  • Phase Three


    1. Captain America: Civil War
    2. Doctor Strange
    3. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
    4. Spider-Man: Homecoming
    5. Thor: Ragnarok
    6. Black Panther
    7. Avengers Infinity War

Infinity War takes place two years after Spider-man Homecoming, therefore it takes place ten years after the battle of New York in the first Avengers movie, and two years after Captain America: Civil War.

Where each Infinity Stone can be found


Reality Knowhere Collector’s Museum Taneleer Tivan
Mind Earth Avengers Headquarters Vision
Soul ? ? ?
Time Earth Sanctum Doctor Strange
Space Space Thor’s SpaceShip Loki
Power Xandar Protected Nova Corps